Michiana Bike Summit Draws Ten Groups

Home/Advocacy, Events, News/Michiana Bike Summit Draws Ten Groups

Michiana Bike Summit Draws Ten Groups

The first Michiana Bike Summit, August 7th in South Bend drew 22 attendees, including representatives from each of ten area bike groups: the Bicycle Friendly Community team; Bike Station Planning team (S. Bend); Bike to Work Week team; Indiana Bicycle Coalition; Chain Reaction Bike Coalition (Goshen); Granger Paths; Michiana Bike Association; Paint the Town With Bike Lanes Committee (S. Bend); Michiana Bicycle Safety Awareness  Committee; and the Northern Indiana Mountain Bike Association.   Also present were guests Nancy Sawyer, wife of Patrick Sawyer, several South Bend City officials/staff and the St. Joe County Parks board president.

Delegates shared information about their groups, goals and funding opportunities, learned about the capabilities of (this) website BikeMichiana.org, and agreed to shared priorities around biker safety, motorist and cyclist education, and continuing development of bike lanes and multipurpose trails.

The Summit delegates finalized the bylaws and approved a board for the new Bike Michiana Coalition (renamed from the Michiana Bike Coalition):  President: Jeff Nixa; Vice President: Judy Lee; Secretary: Paul Taylor; Treasurer: JV Peacock; at-large member: Henry Scott.  The Coalition will next file for 501(c)(3) status as a not-for-profit.  The Coalition will function as an umbrella organization for all the named groups above, and may include additional bike groups/areas in Michiana as they choose to be included. 

The Coalition delegates agreed to share membership e-lists toward the creation of a comprehensive mailing list/database for important bike-related correspondence.  Delegates will first seek authorization from their particular group members.  Individuals will be able to opt out at any time.

Here are some photos from the summit:

By | 2008-08-09T02:30:24+00:00 August 9th, 2008|Categories: Advocacy, Events, News|5 Comments